The Consequences of Hit and Run Collisions in Nevada

The Consequences of Hit and Run Collisions in Nevada


The Consequences of Hit and Run Collisions in NevadaFinding a dent in your car without a note is an inconvenience. But getting involved in a major accident can have serious consequences when the perpetrator flees the scene. Read below to learn what happens after a hit and run is committed in the state of Nevada. If you have personally been involved in a hit and run that resulted in injuries or damage to your car in Reno or the surrounding areas, make sure to call The Law Offices of Kenneth E. Lyon III first.

What Happens if You Fail To Stop After an Accident?

Minor hit and runs that only result in property damage, such as a fender bender in a parking lot, are considered a misdemeanor charge. Sentencing can include up to a year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Six demerit points are also added to the offending driver's license. Twelve demerits in a year will result in a six-month license suspension.

The consequences of a hit and run that causes injuries or death are severe. This crime is categorized as a felony and the offender can be sentenced from 2 to 20 years in state prison, be given $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and lose their license. Separate charges can be filed for each person who was injured or killed in a hit and run.

What Do I Do After a Hit and Run?

Sometimes the driver who caused the accident will return to the scene after a hit and run. Make sure to exchange insurance information and file a police report to have the accident on record. If the driver flees the scene, call the police immediately. Take photos of your vehicle and get contact information from any witnesses. Take notes of everything you remember about the car that hit you, such as make, model, color, and license plate number. Contact an attorney who specializes in personal injury law to get started on filing a claim against the offending driver.

Personal Injury Law in Reno

If you have been the victim of a hit and run and need a personal injury or car accident lawyer, be sure to get in touch with an experienced specialist. For an auto accident lawyer in Reno, Sparks, and Carson City, NV, contact The Law Offices of Kenneth E. Lyon III at (775) 277-6392. The Law Offices of Kenneth E. Lyon III also specializes in wrongful termination lawsuits in Reno. Feel free to contact The Law Offices of Kenneth E. Lyon III for a free case evaluation in Reno, NV!


Law Offices Of Kenneth E. Lyon III Blog
Posted: September 2021

Written and Published By MORBiZ